criterion-sm dice-lg ea-starwars-lg instagram lucasfilm-lg motive-lg twitch you-tube

Can someone please explain the reason for lag?

I'm by no means a computer expert - I play games for fun maybe 2-3 hours per night when I get in from work and Star Wars Battlefront is pretty much unplayable due to lag - move forward, take 2 steps back and end up in a different room (if you've experienced it you know what I mean). I recently bought Battlefield 1 and although it's beautiful to look at in multiplayer I see a soldier then take aim and he's moved halfway across the screen before my bullet lands and I'm like 'WTF'.

What causes this lag with Dice/EA games? Is it something you have to accept if you want to play their games? I've played many other games and not once have I experienced anything like this.

I'm thinking of selling Battlefield and getting Titanfall 2 or CoD as I've never experienced any issues with them with their earlier games but I don't know whether Battlefield will sort itself out with either more servers or at least them being more stable.

Please advise.

Replies

• What causes this lag with Dice/EA games? Is it something you have to accept if you want to play their games? I've played many other games and not once have I experienced anything like this.

I'm thinking of selling Battlefield and getting Titanfall 2 or CoD as I've never experienced any issues with them with their earlier games but I don't know whether Battlefield will sort itself out with either more servers or at least them being more stable.

Please advise.

Titanfall 2 is EA too
  • @swaza79 showed me this useful link. Some parts are a bit technical but it gives you an idea of all the things that can cause lag during your game...

http://ithare.com/mmog-rtt-input-lag-and-how-to-mitigate-them/
  • I blame Obamacare.
    Rogue Mammal X
    (Xbox One)
  • I blame Obamacare.

If you like your lag you can keep your lag.
  • Laziness.
    Palpatine may or may not be homosexual.