criterion-sm dice-lg ea-starwars-lg instagram lucasfilm-lg motive-lg twitch you-tube

Is anyone a game designer?

Jug
184 posts Member
How hard is it really to implement changes, fix bugs, create skins and maps, etc?

Replies

• Evazan127
    8105 posts Member
    People think that everything is easy to add, which it might be, but we have no idea the difficulty of this stuff.
  • Jug
    184 posts Member
    Yeah that's why I'm wondering not blaming
  • Evazan127
    8105 posts Member
    Jug wrote: »
    Yeah that's why I'm wondering not blaming
    Sorry I’m yelling at you even though I’m mad at others.
  • StarWars0525
    2237 posts Member
    edited July 2018
    How hard is it really to implement changes, fix bugs, create skins and maps, etc?

I’m not a game designer but I’m am studying in that course in college right now. To create fixes are not really too difficult it you know where to look so depending on the bug or crash I say it could take up to a hour through a week roughly but most bugs generally take around a hour average. Some even take a few minutes just depends TBH. Then you have sjibs which are really not too difficult to create since you have a base model already with built in game mechanics and star cards so they should only take a few moments depending on how much work you put into them unless there a legendary skin then it does generally takes a bit longer usually a day or two depending on varables like number of developers working on the skin. Maps for me at least are the most difficult thing to make in a game because they take a lot of effort and time to create especially setting them up for playing to play on them like running, shooting or flying. Maps need to be big enough where when you run out of bounds for 10 seconds as someone fast there would be plenty of the map left so you wouldn’t reach the end. The second hardest thing in a game is creating a character and it’s movements. Trust me building a character model sometimes can be very fr